People You Should Know – Phil Newberry

My second favorite movie of all-time is Tombstone.  One of the best parts in the movie is when Wyatt Earp, Doc Holiday and a few random guys are fighting against the gang known as the Cowboys.  Wyatt was trying to get revenge for the Cowboys killing his brother.  During this time, Doc was near death with TB.  One of the guys fighting with him said, “Doc, you should be in bed right now.  Why are you out here fighting?”  Doc replied “because Wyatt Earp is my friend”.  The man said “I have a lot of friends”.  Doc said, “I don’t”.

For most of my life, I could empathize with Doc.  I didn’t have really close friends.  For the past 10 years, my closest friend has been Phil Newberry.  Phil has served at Bellevue Baptist Church as student pastor for 24 years.  Thousands of teenage lives have been changed because of his ministry over the past 30 plus years in Arkansas, Texas, and Tennessee.  He is currently the Campus Pastor at Bellevue Baptist, Arlington, TN.

I was able to be mentored by him for 3.5 years as an intern at BBC.  He was the best man in my wedding.  Most everything good I know about being a husband and father was learned from him.  He is a great youth pastor, but a better friend.

A couple of weeks ago Phil called to let me know that he has kidney cancer.  They believe the cancer is contained to just the kidney.  This week on August 10th, he will have the kidney removed.  I know he would appreciate your prayers today.